Rank Advancement

The achievements of scouts are recognized by awarding badges of rank. The ranks, in order, are Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life and Eagle. Each rank has specific requirements, which are listed in the Boy Scout Handbook and by clicking on the badges to the right. The higher ranks have community service and leadership requirements that are not required for the lower ranks.

Each rank requires a scoutmaster conference and a board of review. The Scoutmaster Conference – Board of Review form (below, or under the Forms tab) needs to be printed, and then you fill out the top section of the form. Give the form and your Scout Handbook to the senior patrol leader or to an assistant senior patrol leader and he will sign the form if all is in order. Then make an appointment for a scoutmaster conference, and finally have your board of review.

For both the scoutmaster conference and board of review, wear your full Class A uniform, with neckerchief and sash, and bring your Scout Handbook and your Scoutmaster Conference – Board of Review form. For the board of review, you’ll also need to bring some appropriate items to demonstrate the skills you learned for that rank, such as a length of rope and a map and compass.

Scouts or adults who are asked to serve on a board of review should read the Guide for Board of Review Members, below.

Also below is more detailed information about rank advancement, and the badges to the right link to a web page with information about that rank.

Overview of Rank Advancement

The Scoutmaster Conference

Guide for Board of Review Members

Scoutmaster Conference – Board of Review Form (fillable)

Second Class
First Class